The origins of Premilcuore are mysterious.
According to a fascinating legend, the village was founded by a Roman centurion named Marcello fleeing from Emperor Caracalla, who held him responsible for stirring up a rebellion. Here the Roman exiles devoted themselves to farming, thus starting the community that still lives in this area today.
In the early Middle Ages Premilcuore was under the control of the Ravenna Church, while from 1124 it was controlled by the Guidi family, Counts of Modigliana, until 1300, when it entered the estates of the Church. The pope gave it to Amerigo Manfredi da Marradi in 1372, but his dominion didn’t last long: in 1375 Premilcuore rebelled against Manfredi and voluntarily passed under the dominion of Florence, which (apart from an interlude when the village was seized by Catherine Sforza in 1494-96) maintained it permanently until 1923, when the village was annexed to the territory of Forlì.